Cambridge, Somerville, November 2014


entering cambridge by porter square (sonya kovacic)

entering cambridge by porter square (sonya kovacic)

Today's post was inspired by an e-mail correspondence with bostonology reader, Reed Savory. Reed kindly mentioned that as a Middlesex County resident (in Carlisle) he sees wild turkeys all the time. Yesterday's curated post was supposed to say Suffolk County instead of MiddlesexCounty. The Official Website of (Massachusetts) Executive Office of Energy and Environmental Affairs states that "Turkeys are absent from Nantucket and Suffolk Counties." Reed responded by saying, "Well, if they are in Harvard Square, I doubt there’s much keeping them from crossing the bridge from Cambridge (Middlesex) into Boston (Suffolk). But maybe the turkeys have GPS and know they aren’t allowed in Suffolk County proper:)" That made us think about boundaries. Thanks for the conversation Reed!

Boundary- something (such as a river, a fence, or an imaginary line) that shows where an area ends and another area begins.

-Merriam-Webster Dictionary

Massachusetts was founded in 1630 as the Massachusetts Bay Colony. On February 6, 1788, Massachusetts became a state. Massachusetts currently has 14 counties, 50 cities, and 301 towns.

Geographic center of Massachusetts is Town of Rutland in Worcester County
Oldest town: Plymouth incorporated 1620
Oldest city: Boston incorporated 1820
Chestnut Hill is comprised of parts of the City of Boston, the City of Newton, and the Town of Brookline, as well as being comprised of the counties Suffolk, Middlesex, and Norfolk.

Massachusetts' 14 counties: Barnstable (established 1685), Berkshire (1761), Bristol (1685), Dukes (1695), Essex (1643), Franklin (1811), Hampden (1812), Hampshire (1662), Middlesex (1643), Nantucket (1695), Norfolk (1793), Plymouth (1685), Suffolk (1643), Worcester (1731).

According to Massachusetts Housing and Economic Development department, the cities and towns that make up the Greater Boston area include: Arlington, Belmont, Boston, Braintree, Brookline, Cambridge, Chelsea, Cohasset, Dedham, Everett, Hingham, Holbrook, Hull, Malden, Medford, Melrose, Milton, Needham, Newton, Quincy, Randolph, Revere, Somerville, Waltham, Watertown, Wellesley, Weston, Weymouth, Winchester and Winthrop.

Boston neighborhoods: Allston/Brighton, Back Bay, Beacon Hill/West End, Charlestown, Chinatown, Dorchester, East Boston, Fenway/Kenmore, Financial District, Hyde Park, Jamaica Plain, Mattapan, Mission Hill, North End, Roslindale, Roxbury, South Boston, South End/Bay Village, and West Roxbury.

Click on the interactive map to see boundary formations in Boston.